

INDIANA PROSECUTING ATTORNEYS COUNCIL 302 W. Washington Street, Room E-205 Indianapolis, IN 46204-2767 www.in.gov/ipac

Fax: (317) 233-3599

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Cass County Prosecutor Elected IPAC Chair

Lisa Swaim takes over as Chair of IPAC Board of Directors

(INDIANAPOLIS – June 26, 2019) – Cass County Prosecutor Lisa Swaim was elected to serve as Chair of the Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council's Board of Directors last week during IPAC's annual Summer Conference.

Swaim, the Cass County Prosecutor since 2015, will serve as Chair for a term of one year. She takes over for St. Joseph County Prosecutor Kenneth Cotter. Swaim served as Cotter's Vice-Chair during 2018-19.

Swaim was elected during an IPAC membership meeting consisting of elected prosecutors and



Outgoing IPAC Chair Ken Cotter (left) is presented with a plaque by new Chair Lisa Swaim and IPAC Executive Director David Powell (right) chief deputies. She is joined by fellow officers Anthony Quinn, the Dubois County Prosecutor who will serve as Vice-Chair, and James "Brad" Landerwerlen, the Shelby County Prosecutor, who was chosen as the Board's Secretary.

"I am grateful for the honor and the opportunity to serve as chair of the Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council for 2019-2020," Swaim said. "As we face the road ahead, I will continue the work of IPAC in support of our mission as prosecutors to seek justice through the investigation and prosecution of crimes with integrity and fairness."

IPAC membership also approved a new slate of IPAC Board members during the meeting. The Board consists of five Republican prosecutors and five Democrat prosecutors, who serve in two-year terms. The following prosecutors were selected to serve on the IPAC Board.

- Andrew Bryson, Union County
- Kenneth Cotter, St. Joseph County
- Daniel Hampton, Kosciusko County
- Brad Landwerlen, Shelby County
- Jeremy Mull, Clark County
- Chris Owens, Scott County
- Anthony Quinn, Dubois County
- Wesley Schemenaur, Jay County
- Steven Sonnega, Morgan County
- Lisa Swaim, Cass County

About the Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council: The IPAC is a non-partisan, independent state judicial branch agency that supports Indiana's 91 prosecuting attorneys and their chief deputies. It is governed by a 10-member board of directors of elected prosecuting attorneys. The IPAC assists prosecuting attorneys in the preparation of manuals, legal research and training seminars. It serves as a liaison to local, state, and federal agencies, study commissions, and community groups in an effort to support law enforcement and promote the fair administration of justice.

Contact:

Zach Osowski Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council 317-233-3923 <u>zosowski@ipac.in.gov</u>