NDIANA MATERIAL PROPERTY OF THE PROPERTY OF TH

INDIANA PROSECUTING ATTORNEYS COUNCIL

302 W. Washington Street, Room E-205 Indianapolis, IN 46204-2767 www.in.gov/ipac

Phone: (317) 232-1836 Fax: (317) 233-3599

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

IPAC honors four prosecutors with Steve Johnson, 'Shine' Feller awards

(INDIANAPOLIS – December 12, 2018) – Four different prosecutors were recognized during IPAC's annual awards ceremony for their lengthy and successful careers and commitment to public safety and law enforcement. The awards were handed out during IPAC's Winter Conference earlier this month.

Franklin County Prosecutor Melvin Wilhelm received one of the Eugene 'Shine' Feller awards, the highest honor handed out by the Association of Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys, Inc. Wilhelm is retiring at the end of this year, after 40 years as prosecuting attorney in Franklin County.

"It's a true testament to Mel's character and ability as a prosecutor that he's been in that office for so long," IPAC Executive Director David Powell said. "We're losing a lot of experience with his departure."

Grant County Prosecutor James Luttrull also received a 'Shine' Feller award for his service to the state and to prosecutors throughout his 15 year career as prosecuting attorney. Prior to taking over as elected



(From left) Franklin County Prosecutor Melvin Wilhelm, IPAC Executive Director David Powell and Grant County Prosecutor James Luttrull prosecutor in 2003, Luttrull was Chief Deputy for 12 years and deputy prosecutor in Grant and Marion counties for almost ten years before that.

"It's been an honor working with each and every one of you," Luttrull said upon receiving his award. "What we do is not easy but it is important. I ask that you keep doing this important work to the best of your ability."

The 'Shine' Feller award created in 1975 to commemorate the late Eugene Feller, who served as Prosecutor in Harrison County from 1959 to 1970. The award has been given to prosecutors, governor and judges and is meant to award Indiana's outstanding citizens. This is just the third time that two 'Shine'

Feller awards have been given out in the same year. Both Luttrull and Wilhelm are also former presidents of the Association.

IPAC also bestowed two Stephen J. Johnson awards during the ceremony. The Johnson award is dedicated to IPAC's former Executive Director Steve Johnson, who led IPAC for 14 years and spent his

entire 38-year career with the organization. Lake County Prosecutor Bernard Carter and Carroll County Chief Deputy Jerry Bean both received the award.

Carter has been prosecutor in Lake County since 1993 and was nominated by three fellow prosecutors.



(From left) Daviess County Prosecutor
Daniel Murrie, Ripley County Prosecutor
Richard Hertel, Lake County Prosecutor
Bernard Carter and Madison County
Prosecutor Rodney Cummings

"I think the fact that there were several people lining up to nominate him just goes to show how respected he is by his peers," said Ripley County Prosecutor Richard Hertel, one of the nominators. "Bernie brings a strong and thoughtful presence to our board meetings and his leadership benefits not just the people of Lake County but Hoosiers all across the state."

Bean, who has been a prosecutor in several different counties throughout his lengthy career, was nominated by Carroll County Prosecutor Nick McLeland.

As a new prosecutor, McLeland said Bean's experience, work ethic and patience has been invaluable to him, joking that he doesn't know what he's going to do when Bean eventually retires.

Bean thanked his family and co-workers after receiving his award and encouraged the audience to approach each day with a cheerfulness and willingness to work hard.

"I'm proud of what I've been able to accomplish in my career," Bean said. "I've had the good fortune of working with some great people that I will never forget. "

Both Bean and Carter are also past presidents of the Association.

Contact:

Zach Osowski
Indiana Prosecuting Attorneys Council
zosowski@ipac.in.gov



Carroll County Chief Deputy Jerry Bean and Carroll County Prosecutor Nick McLeland