

# Indiana Behavioral Health Commission

https://www.in.gov/fssa/dmha/indiana-behavioral-health-commission/

Meeting Minutes for Friday, January 14, 2022, 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm, adjourned at 1:29pm

Viewable at: DMHA Behavioral Health Commission - YouTube

### Minutes

### **Commission Members Present:**

Katy Adams	Sharon Bowman	Carrie Cadwell	Jay Chaudhary			
Rachel Johnson-Yates	Timothy Kelly	Brooke Lawson	Anthony Maze			
Leah McGrath	Christine Negendank	Katrina Norris	James Nossett			
Leslie Miller	Barbara Scott	Jess Yoder				
Lieutenant Governor Suzanne Crouch						
Senator Michael Crider	Senato	or JD Ford				

# **Commission Members Absent:**

Rick Crawley	Donna Culley	Mimi Gardner	Ray Lay
Chase Lyday	Stephen McCaffrey	Zoe Frantz	Scott Fadness
Mike Nielsen	Allison Taylor substituted by Lindsay Baywol		

### Guests:

Chase Wilcoxen	Kristina Johnson	Justin Blackburn	Ephphatha Malden
----------------	------------------	------------------	------------------

A copy of the agenda is posted to https://www.in.gov/fssa/dmha/indiana-behavioral-health-commission/.

The commission members were notified the live recording and livestreaming for the public was in progress.

## The following items were discussed:

## Item 1: Welcome Lieutenant Governor Suzanne Crouch

- Lt. Governor Crouch discussed the importance of mental health for the wellness of all Hoosiers
  - Noted the efforts of the Roundtable of Mental Health to amplify areas of change, as well as collaborations with funding sources to support efforts, including the Irsay Family, the Colts, the Simon Family, the Pacers, Eli Lilly, and the Indiana Chamber of Commerce

# Item 2: Welcome Senator Crider, Sponsor of IBHC Legislation

- Senator Crider noted support from Governor's office as key to addressing mental health needs, his ongoing goal and intentionality to implement the IBHC's recommendation, and commitment to work in the legislature to improve mental health care in Indiana based on the IBHC report outcomes.
  - Senator further noted HB 1468 for 988 progress and thanked Jay Chaudhary for his efforts

## Item 3: Welcome Senator Ford

• Senator Ford noted eagerness to collaborate with fellow Senators to address needs identified in the future IBHC report.

# Item 4: Updates

•

### Outcome:

- J. Chaudhary introduced Justin Blackburn from WISE to support determining the cost of untreated mental illness
  - J. Blackburn with IUPUI Fairbanks School of Public Health provided information on the methodology for the research and identified staff that will be supporting areas of expertise
    - J. Chaudhary noted non-monetary costs are also important for demonstrating need and making recommendations
      - J. Chaudhary requested feedback from Commission Members, solicited questions
        - No questions or comments from Commission Members
  - J. Chaudhary requested approval of the minutes from September 29, 2021
    - The Commission voted on the minutes
      - K. Norris moved to approve the minutes, multiple Commission Members seconded, all in favor, none opposed, there were no abstentions, the minutes were approved.
- J. Chaudhary updated the Commission Members on identifying Essential Virtual Solutions as having capacity to support IBHC final report development; solicited questions from Commission Members

- B. Scott requested source of resources for purchasing vendor supports?
  - J. Chaudhary identified technical assistance funds from block grant, as well as HEA 1001 appropriated funding
    - B. Scott expressed gratitude in DMHA locating funds to support report
- J. Chaudhary identified need for a Committee Subgroup in order to support synthesizing the subgroup recommendations and ensuring for holistic recommendations
  - Report Subgroup volunteers include: J. Chaudhary, K. Norris, C. Negendank, B. Scott, S. McCaffrey, J. Yoder, R. Lay, and L. McGrath
    - J. Chaudhary requested comments, feedback, and solicited questions regarding the Report Subcommittee
      - No questions or comments from Commission Members
    - The Commission voted to approve a Report Subcommittee
      - J. Nossett moved to approve the Report Subcommittee, B.
        Lawson seconded, all in favor, none opposed, there were no abstentions, the Report Subcommittee was approved.
        - J. Chaudhary will coordinate convening the Report Subcommittee, a full member Commission Meeting will follow.
          - K. Norris thanked subgroups for their work, collaboration, and expressed pride in outcomes
             S. Bowman agreed
            - S. Bowman agreed