INDIANAPOLIS 46204-2798

ROOM 229 - STATE HOUSE TELEPHONE: 317/232-0890 FACSIMILE: 317/233-0858

MINUTES Indiana State School Bus Committee September 10, 2019

The Indiana State School Bus Committee met for a regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, September 10, 2019 at the Indiana State Police Commercial Motor Vehicle Division office, Indianapolis, Indiana with the following members in attendance:

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Michael Mentzel – Chairman

Dr. James Hanna – Pub. Sch. Superintendent
Ron Chew – Ind. Assoc. of School Bus Drivers
Adam Ervin – Indiana School for the Deaf &
Indiana School for the Blind
Dwayne Vandiver – Sch. Trans. Assoc. of Ind.
Jay Erickson– Ind. Dept. of Revenue
Terry Butler – Ind. School Boards Assoc

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sgt. Chris Kath – ISP
Clifford Zehr – Ind. Assoc. of Sch. Bus
Dist.
Julia Goon – Ind. Twnshp. Assoc.
Todd Edwards – Ind. Trans. Assoc.

VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Dr. Joseph O'Neil – Governor's Council on Impaired & Dangerous Drivers Melissa Lechner – BMV

NON-VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Loren Evans – IASBO

COMMITTEE SECRETARY PRESENT:

Lisa Callihan – Office of School Transportation

INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION PRESENT:

Mike LaRocco – Office of School Transportation

The meeting was presided by Michael Mentzel. The committee meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. Roll call was taken and a quorum of voting members was present for voting purposes.

Guests that were present: Ryan Campbell--MacAllister/Bluebird

Kelly Moore--Kerlin

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of September 10, 2019 Page 2.

Approval of Minutes

Dr. Hanna made a motion to approve the June minutes and re-approve the March minutes. Dwayne Vandiver seconded the motion with the vote passing. The March minutes were reapproved due to the fact that a non-voting member made a motion to approve the minutes. It was then discussed that all members of the committee be voting members. Dr. Hanna made a motion that all members of the committee be voting members with Ron Chew seconding the motion. Vote was taken and passed. Mike LaRocco will work on getting this changed with the legislation.

ITEMS OF ACTION

Stop arm approval – Walter Keith.

The committee viewed the material sent by Walter Keith requesting that they approve his new stop arm. Clifford Zehr advised the board that making the changes to the stop arm will void the warranty and that Mr. Keith should work through the OEMs. Ron Chew made a motion to reject the request with Terry Butler seconding the motion. Vote passed to reject the request.

ITEMS OF DISCUSSION

Extended stop arms, Attorney General's letter.

The committee discussed the Attorney General's letter regarding extended stop arms and decided that the manufacturer needs to also work through the OEMs due to the fact that it would also void the warranty.

Website posts – bus safety guidance and speed limit reduction request.

Mike LaRocco showed the committee that their website has been updated to comply with Senate Bill 2 and now has the bus safety guidance and speed limit reduction request posted.

Correspondence

Notice to Readopt 575 IAC 1-1-4.6, 1-5.5-2, 1-5.5-4, 1-5.5-5, 1-8.

The Notice to Re-adopt has been sent to the Governor, Attorney General and the State Budget Committee.

maian	a State Sci	noor Dus C	Committee	
Minute	s of Septe	mber 10, 2	2019	
Page 3	_			

Yellow card revocation	ons.		
		eenwood Community Schools Bend Community Schools	
	the committee that this e from Kerlin Bus Sales.	would be his last meeting and the new me.	ember
Meeting adjourned at	11:15 by Chairman Mic	hael Mentzel.	
Next meeting date: Vehicle Division.	December 3, 2019 at the	he Indiana State Police Commercial M	otor
		-	
Chairman			
Secretary		-	
Date		-	