



INDIANAPOLIS 46204-2798

ROOM 229 - STATE HOUSE TELEPHONE: 317/232-0890 FACSIMILE: 317/233-0858

MINUTES Indiana State School Bus Committee September 6, 2016

The Indiana State School Bus Committee met for a regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, September 6, 2016 at Indiana Department of Education, Indianapolis, Indiana with the following members in attendance:

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Pete Baxter – Chairman Dr. Joseph O'Neil – Governor's Council on Impaired & Dangerous Drivers Ron Chew – Ind. Assoc. of School Bus Drivers Dr. James Hanna – Pub. Sch. Superintendent Carl Brown – Indiana School for the Deaf & Indiana School for the Blind Dwayne Vandiver – Sch. Trans. Assoc. of Ind.

VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Claudia Koerner – Ind. Dept. of Revenue Joey Dallas – Ind. School Boards Assoc. Melissa Lechner – BMV

COMMITTEE SECRETARY PRESENT:

Carrie Glisson –IDOE

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sgt. Chris Kath – ISP Clifford Zehr – Ind. Assoc. of Sch. Bus Dist. Todd Edwards – Ind. Trans. Assoc. Rick Allen – IASBO

NON-VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Mark Clawson - Ind. Twnshp. Assoc.

INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION PRESENT:

Mike LaRocco – Office of school Transportation

Mr. Baxter called the committee meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Roll call was taken and a quorum of voting members was present for voting purposes.

Eight guests were present:

Ryan Campbell – MacAllister
Pat Waites – Hamilton Southeastern Schools
Nathan Summers – Hamilton Southeastern Schools
Kelly Moore – Kerlin Bus Sales
Adam Van Oserol – IEI
Jason Winbona – Truck Service Inc.
Jay Houtz – Truck Service Inc.
Bob Wilson – Truck Service Inc.

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of September 6, 2016 Page 2.

Todd Edwards was introduced as the new representative for the Indiana Transportation Association replacing Kent McDaniel who has retired.

The June 7, 2016, meeting minutes were reviewed. Dr. O'Neil moved to approve with the revision to strike the words "without vote" from the last sentence of the minutes. Mr. Vandiver seconded the motion. Motion passed.

ITEMS OF ACTION

The Public Hearing for Proposed Rule 15-485 was held this morning at the Indiana Department of Education, 115 W. Washington Street, Indianapolis, Indiana in the 4th Floor Conference Room from 9:00am to 10:00am. No testimony was offered either verbally or in writing.

ITEMS OF DISCUSSION

Auto Greaser Pilot Program – Hamilton Southeastern Schools – Pat Waites and Nathan Summers of Hamilton Southeastern Schools along with representatives of Truck Service Inc. explained their request for a pilot program for the allowance of automatic greaser units on two of their school buses, one conventional and one transit style. The benefits were discussed as well as the outline of the program. Pat or Nathan will review the status of the program at the December committee meeting.

Battery Box new Ford Transit cutaway chassis – this particular style has located the battery box in the interior of the bus directly under the driver seat, which does not meet current specification. The committee agreed the bus must meet current specification 575 IAC 1-2-30 for battery location.

Technical correction to soap in the spill kit - Dr. O'Neil addressed the need for the soap in the spill kit to be identified as a water-less cleanser. This correction would reduce the misunderstanding of the word soap without the inclusion of water on the bus.

Seat Belt Cutter – Mike LaRocco provided language that different states use in bus specification for the location of the driver area seat belt cutter. It is agreed the cutter needs to be reachable in all possible positions the driver may find themselves in. Topic is tabled until better language is available.

CORRESPONDENCE

Reflective lettering denial letter – Mike LaRocco reviewed the denial letter for East Noble School Corp who requested to use black reflective lettering on their new buses.

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of September 6, 2016 Page 3.

Yellow card revocation letter – Mike LaRocco informed the committee the outline for the Yellow Card Revocation letter is being reviewed by the IDOE legal team. Mike will confer with legal of how much information may be shared with the committee (if any) to prevent prejudice of the committee if an appeal hearing is called. The committee will be notified if or when a revocation is conducted.

The next regular meeting is scheduled for 10:00 a.m., Tuesday, December 6, 2016 at the Indiana Department of Education, Indianapolis, Indiana.

Mr. Pete Baxter adjourned the meeting.

Chairman

Secretary

Date