



INDIANAPOLIS 46204-2798

ROOM 229 - STATE HOUSE TELEPHONE: 317/232-0890 FACSIMILE: 317/233-0858

MINUTES Indiana State School Bus Committee March 3, 2020

The Indiana State School Bus Committee met for a regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, March 3, 2020 at the Indiana State Police Commercial Motor Vehicle Division office, Indianapolis, Indiana with the following members in attendance:

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Michael Mentzel – Chairman Ron Chew – Ind. Assoc. of School Bus Drivers Dr. Joseph O'Neil – Governor's Council on Impaired & Dangerous Drivers Dr. James Hanna – Pub. Sch. Superintendent Adam Ervin – Indiana School for the Deaf & Indiana School for the Blind Dwayne Vandiver – Sch. Trans. Assoc. of Ind. Terry Butler – Ind. School Boards Assoc Melissa Lechner – BMV

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Trooper Randy McPike – ISP Kelly Moore – Ind. Assoc. of Sch. Bus Dist. Julia Goon – Ind. Twnshp. Assoc.

VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Randall Boone– Ind. Dept. of Revenue

COMMITTEE SECRETARY PRESENT:

Lisa Callihan – Office of School Transportation

NON-VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Todd Edwards – Ind. Trans. Assoc. Loren Evans – IASBO

INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF

EDUCATION PRESENT:

Mike LaRocco – Office of School Transportation

The meeting was presided by Chairman, Michael Mentzel. The committee meeting was called to order at 10:01 a.m. Roll call was taken and a quorum of voting members was present for voting purposes.

Guests that were present:

Trooper Nate Sherer-Indiana State Police Ryan Campbell-MacAllister Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of March 3, 2020 Page 2.

Approval of Minutes

Dwayne Vandiver made a motion to approve the December 3, 2019 minutes with Ron Chew seconding the motion. Motion passed and minutes were approved.

ITEMS OF ACTION

Driver Certification Revocation Appeal Hearing - Stephanie Gerber

Stephanie Gerber not present due to a sick child. Mike LaRocco presented the revocation to the committee and Trooper Sherer also spoke to the committee. Dr. O'Neil arrived to the meeting. The committee discussed the revocation and Mike stated that whether the committee upheld or overturned the revocation the driver would have to complete the return-to-duty protocol.

Terry Butler made a motion to uphold the revocation. Dr. Hanna seconded the motion. Motion to uphold the revocation passed.

Re-adoption of 575 IAC various parts.

Dr. Hanna made a motion to accept the re-adoption with Melissa Lechner seconding the motion. Motion passes.

Pilot program request - illuminated school bus sign; Wa-Nee Schools.

The committee discussed the request to allow Wa-Nee Schools, Hamilton Southeastern Schools, and Rossville Schools to participate in the pilot program for the illuminated school bus sign and illuminated stop arm sign.

Terry Butler made a motion to accept the pilot program with Dwayne Vandiver seconding the motion. Motion passed. Dr. Hanna abstained from voting as he is the Superintendent for Rossville Schools.

Specification variance request – mobile data terminals. Request from First Student in Beech Grove.

First Student in Beech Grove has requested the committee to allow mobile data terminals to have a live screen when moving. The committee discussed the request and Melissa Lechner made a motion to allow the request. Dr. Hanna seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of March 3, 2020 Page 3.

ITEMS OF DISCUSSION

Legislative update.

Mike LaRocco discussed with the committee all bills that are going through the legislature for this session pertaining to school transportation.

Correspondence

2020 Specification certification letters - Blue Bird, MicroBird, Collins, and StarCraft.

Yellow card revocations.

Jeffrey Shepherd-Knox Community School Corp. Katelin Holt-Duneland School Corp. Heather Chapman-Portage Township Schools Jason Martin-Portage Township Schools Jack Beaudoin- Valparaiso Community Schools Elizabeth Brown-Kokomo School Corp. Shaun Gubbins-Carmel-Clay Schools Jeanie McSwain-Illinois Central Bus Company

Dr. O'Neil made a motion to adjourn the meeting with Dr. Hanna seconding the motion. Motion passed and meeting adjourned at 11:10 by Chairman Mentzel.

Next meeting date: June 2, 2020 at the Indiana State Police Commercial Motor Vehicle Division.

Chairman

Secretary

Date