INDIANAPOLIS 46204-2798

ROOM 229 - STATE HOUSE TELEPHONE: 317/232-0890 FACSIMILE: 317/233-0858

MINUTES Indiana State School Bus Committee March 5, 2018

The Indiana State School Bus Committee met for a regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, March 5, 2018 at the Indiana State Police Commercial Motor Vehicle Division office, Indianapolis, Indiana with the following members in attendance:

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Michael Mentzel – Chairman Dr. James Hanna – Pub. Sch. Superintendent Ron Chew – Ind. Assoc. of School Bus Drivers Adam Ervin – Indiana School for the Deaf & Indiana School for the Blind Dwayne Vandiver – Sch. Trans. Assoc. of Ind. Terry Butler – Ind. School Boards Assoc. Randall Boone– Ind. Dept. of Revenue Dr. Joseph O'Neil – Governor's Council on Impaired & Dangerous Drivers Melissa Lechner - BMV

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sgt. Chris Kath – ISP Clifford Zehr – Ind. Assoc. of Sch. Bus Dist. Todd Edwards – Ind. Trans. Assoc. Rick Allen – IASBO

VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

NON-VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT: Mark Clawson – Ind. Twnshp. Assoc.

COMMITTEE SECRETARY PRESENT:

Lisa Callihan – Office of School Transportation

INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF **EDUCATION PRESENT:**

Mike LaRocco – Office of School **Transportation**

The meeting was presided by Michael Mentzel. The committee meeting was called to order at 10:02 a.m. Roll call was taken and a quorum of voting members was present for voting purposes.

Guests that were present: Ryan Campbell – MacAllister Trans. Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of March 5, 2019 Page 2.

Approval of Minutes

The December 4, 2018, meeting minutes were reviewed. Terry Butler moved to approve the minutes. Dwayne Vandiver seconded the motion. Motion passed.

ITEMS OF ACTION

Emergency Egress Ramp denial letter and request for appeal—

Mike LaRocco presented the committee with an appeal request from Mr. Lillo regarding the approval of an emergency exit door egress ramp. The committee was shown a video that was sent by Mr. Lillo presenting his egress ramp. The committee discussed the egress ramp and Ron Chew motioned to uphold the denial issued by Mr. LaRocco. Dr. O'Neil seconded the motion and the committee voted to uphold the denial.

Collins Low Floor Type A Bus denial letter and request for appeal –

Mike LaRocco presented the committee with an appeal request from Collins Bus after Mr. LaRocco denied their request for the approval of their low floor school bus. The committee viewed pictures sent by Collins and discussed the low floor bus. Dr. James Hanna submitted a motion to uphold the denial with Ron Chew seconding the motion. The committee voted to uphold the denial.

ITEMS OF DISCUSSION

Legislative update – HB 1079, HB 1099, HB 1287, HB 1340, HB 1564, SB 2, SB 327, SB 383, SB 403, and SB 540.

Mike LaRocco gave Legislative updates to the committee from the current Legislative session. He explained where each bill was in the session and discussed what it means to the districts.

Extended stop arms, Attorney General's letter-this was put on the agenda in case we received the letter from the Attorney General's Office. We have not received it at this time.

Tire pressure monitoring systems-Mr. LaRocco shared an email that he received from Jeff Monesmith. Mr Monesmith was inquiring to see if digital tire pressure monitors are approved for use on school buses in Indiana. The committee discussed this and decided that the digital tire pressure monitors are not listed in specs and are not approved for use in Indiana.

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of March 5, 2019 Page 3.

ITEMS OF DISCUSSION (continued)

Bus stop guidance letter- Mike advise the committee that the DOE wants to hold on to the Bus Stop Guidance Letter until Legislation is out of session.

Terry Butler asked about adding small blue lights between the marker lights on the top front of the bus. He said people take notice when they see red and blue lights. Sgt. Chris Kath advised that it would take a change in statue.

Next committee meeting-June 25th at the STAI Conference. Committee members will be able to enter the trade show free of charge and lunch will be provided.

Correspondence

Specification certification letters-letters from Blue Bird, Collins Bus Corp, IC Bus, Micro Bird, Starcraft Bus, Thomas Built Buses, and Titan buses

Yellow Card Revocations-

Phyllis Horstman – Franklin County Community Schools

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of March 5, 2019 Page 3.

Next meeting date is scheduled for 10:00 a.m., Tuesday, June 25, 2019 at the French Lick Springs Resort, 8670 West State Road 56, French Lick, IN, 47432

The meeting was adjourned at 11:41 p.m.	
Chairman	
Secretary	
Date	