INDIANAPOLIS 46204-2798

ROOM 229 - STATE HOUSE TELEPHONE: 317/232-0890 FACSIMILE: 317/233-0858

MINUTES Indiana State School Bus Committee March 1, 2016

The Indiana State School Bus Committee met for a regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, March 1, 2016 at Indiana Department of Education, Indianapolis, Indiana with the following members in attendance:

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Pete Baxter – Chairman
Dr. Joseph O'Neil – Governor's Council on
Impaired & Dangerous Drivers
Ron Chew – Ind. Assoc. of School Bus Drivers
Carl Brown – Indiana School for the Deaf &
Indiana School for the Blind
Dwayne Vandiver – Sch. Trans. Assoc. of Ind.
Joey Dallas – Ind. School Boards Assoc.
Melissa Lechner – BMV

VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Claudia Koerner – Ind. Dept. of Revenue Dr. James Hanna – Pub. Sch. Superintendent

COMMITTEE SECRETARY PRESENT:

Carrie Glisson –IDOE

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sgt. Chris Kath – ISP
Clifford Zehr – Ind. Assoc. of Sch. Bus
Dist.
Kent McDaniel – Ind. Trans. Assoc.
Rick Allen – IASBO

NON-VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Mark Clawson – Ind. Twnshp. Assoc.

INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION PRESENT:

Mike LaRocco – Office of school Transportation

Mr. Baxter called the committee meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Mr. Baxter introduced the newest member of the Committee, Rick Allen, representing the Indiana Association of School Business Officials.

One guest was present: Sarah Hotseller of the Bureau of Motor Vehicles

The December 1, 2015, meeting minutes were reviewed. Mr. Ron Chew moved to approve the minutes as presented, Mr. Dwayne Vandiver seconded the motion; motion carried.

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of March 1, 2016 Page 2.

ITEMS OF ACTION

The Committee reviewed and discussed the language for the proposed rules for bus specifications in regard to first aid kits, child alert systems and the rear stop arm. The rules required a new vote to resubmit post moratorium. Mr. Joey Dallas moved to accept and submit the rules as read, Dr. O'Neil seconded. The motion passed. The body build date for action will be communicated when available.

ITEMS OF DISCUSSION

Legislative update – Mr. Mike LaRocco reviewed the 2016 Legislative Changes that are being acted on this session. They include:

- o SB260 died in committee without hearing
- o SB 326 died in committee without hearing
- o HB 1186 died in committee without hearing
- o HB 1333 died in committee without hearing
- SEA 93 Updates the language in reference to IC 20-27-8-1 to include or thirty-three (33) second of arc or less angel of stereopsis". This will update the language to more accurately follow how the field of vision is measured.
 Also addresses the revocation of yellow cards by the Department of Education.

Mr. Pete Baxter requested that a copy of the policy to be used for administrating the revocation of yellow cards be submitted to and reviewed by the Committee.

Seat Belt instruction and bus evacuation drill reporting: - Mr. Mike LaRocco advised the Committee that only 33% of the school districts/school bus companies have reported their seat belt instruction and bus evacuation drills for the first semester of the 2015 – 2016 school year. The Committee discussed how to improve the reporting numbers. Mr. Mike LaRocco will check with the DOE Legal Department to determine of the reporting information can be made available on an open website for parental/public search.

Bus Options – The Committee discussed and agreed that school bus updates/options/new OEM equipment that meets FMCSA regulations and/or approval will not be included in Indiana State School Bus specifications.

Fatal Bus Crash – Sgt. Chris Kath reviewed the details of the recent fatal bus crash in MSD Lawrence Township in February 2016.

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of March 1, 2016 Page 3.

CORRESPONDENCE

Specification certification letters for all school and special purpose bus manufacturers were received as of February 1, 2016.

Recall notices were announced and hard copies are available in member's binders.

Mr. Mike LaRocco sent the denial letter to Clark Pleasant Schools on the Committee's denial of their request for an exterior camera system not approved in current specification.

The next regular meeting is scheduled for 10:00 a.m., Tuesday, June 7, 2016 at the Indiana Department of Education, Indianapolis, Indiana.

Without further business to discuss, Dr. O'Neil made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Melissa Lechner; motion passed.

| Chairman | | |
|-----------|--|--|
| Secretary | | |
| Date | | |