MINUTES

Indiana State School Bus Committee

March 6, 2012

The Indiana State School Bus Committee met for a regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, March 6, 2012 at the Department of Education office in Indianapolis, Indiana with the following members in attendance.

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Danny Libs – Chairman
Dwayne Vandiver – Sch. Trans. Assoc. of Ind.
Joey Dallas – Ind. School Boards Assoc.
Ron Chew – Ind. Assoc. of School Bus Drivers
Claudia Koerner – Ind. Dept. of Revenue
Robert Taylor – Pub. Sch. Superintendent Assoc.

VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Shannon Dickson – BMV Dr. Joseph O'Neil – Governor's Council on Impaired & Dangerous Drivers

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Mark Clawson – Ind. Twnshp. Assoc.
John Perkins – IASBO
Kent McDaniel – Ind. Trans. Assoc.
Sgt. Steve Whitaker – ISP

NON-VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Clifford Zehr – Ind. Assoc. of Sch. Bus Dist.

The Chairman called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Mr. LaRocco called roll.

One change was noted from the December 6, 2011 minutes in adding the wording "Association of "accidently omitted from Mr. Perkins organization name. Mr. Dallas moved to approve the minutes as revised, Mr. Chew seconded the motion to approve; motion carried.

Mr. LaRocco submitted a request from Ft. Wayne Community Schools to install a warning device for school bus parking brakes when not engaged. Mr. Libs asked if the device was also available for hydraulic brakes. After discussion it was found that most school district buses already have this feature installed and it was unnecessary to bring this request to the floor.

Mr. LaRocco advised the committee on Senate Bill 226 that will require every district (with two exclusions) to provide transportation. This bill also created a distress school fund. House Bill 1134 will not allow an educational service center or school bus driver contract for an educational service center to use parents' supplemental transportation contracts. HB 1134 also deals with fluid analysis as well as non-public school students being dropped off at a safe place near their school.

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of March 6, 2012 Page 2.

Under items of discussion, Mr. LaRocco informed the Committee of the school bus specification process currently underway and the CDL Medical Division Change to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles occurring on April 21, 2012.

Mr. LaRocco also discussed Star seats blocking exits and inquired on current standard? Sgt. Whitaker inquired about the standard for bus inspections. DOE Staff Attorney Chris Greisl will be consulted for legal guidance on the standard for Head Start/pre-school and special needs buses.

The next regular meeting is scheduled for 10:00 a.m., Tuesday, June 5, 2012 at the Department of Education in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Without further business to discuss, Mr. Chew made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Mr. Vandiver; motion carried.

Chairman		
Secretary		
Date		