INDIANAPOLIS 46204-2798

ROOM 229 - STATE HOUSE TELEPHONE: 317/232-0890 FACSIMILE: 317/233-0858

# MINUTES Indiana State School Bus Committee June 19, 2018

The Indiana State School Bus Committee met for a regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, June 19, 2018 at the Grand Wayne Center, Fort Wayne, Indiana with the following members in attendance:

### **VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Michael Mentzel – Chairman
Ron Chew – Ind. Assoc. of School Bus Drivers
Dr. James Hanna – Pub. Sch. Superintendent
Adam Ervin – Indiana School for the Deaf &
Indiana School for the Blind
Melissa Lechner – BMV

### **VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Dwayne Vandiver – Sch. Trans. Assoc. of Ind. Dr. Joseph O'Neil – Governor's Council on Impaired & Dangerous Drivers Terry Butler – Ind. School Boards Assoc. Randall Boone – Ind. Dept. of Revenue

### **COMMITTEE SECRETARY PRESENT:**

Lisa Callihan – Office of School Transportation

### **NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Sgt. Chris Kath – ISP
Clifford Zehr – Ind. Assoc. of Sch. Bus
Dist.
Todd Edwards – Ind. Trans. Assoc.
Mark Clawson – Ind. Twnshp. Assoc.
Rick Allen – IASBO

### **NON-VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:**

# INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION PRESENT:

Mike LaRocco – Office of School Transportation

The meeting was presided by Chairman Michael Mentzel. The committee meeting was called to order at 10:15 a.m. Roll call was taken and a quorum of voting members was present for voting purposes.

Guests that were present: Please see attached.

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of June 19, 2018 Page 2.

### **Approval of Minutes**

The March 6, 2018, meeting minutes were reviewed. Ron Chew moved to approve the minutes as written. Melissa Lechner seconded the motion. Motion passed.

### ITEMS OF ACTION

**Notice of Intent for Rulemaking** – The public hearing was held at 10:00 am this date and location. Please see attached for attendance.

No public comments were received in person at the meeting.

The specification on Seat Belt Cutter was reviewed. Ron Chew moved to accept the spec as written. Dr. Hanna seconded the motion. Motion passed.

#### ITEMS OF DISCUSSION

**Legislative Update** – Mike LaRocco reviewed the current status of bills concerning student transportation. SB303 Education Matters and HB1315 Ball State takeover Muncie Schools passed and will take effect on July 1, 2018.

Collision avoidance and advanced braking system-Bendix Wingman Fusion – Randall Ray from IC Bus presented new collision avoidance and advanced braking system that is being installed in some Indiana school busses.

### Correspondence

**Hegedus Letter** – Mike LaRocco advised the committee about a letter from The Law Office of Brian L. Bennett, P.C. that was sent to the committee in reference to a school bus stop. Mr. LaRocco advised that there would be no action required due to the fact that the committee does not dictate bus stops as that is a district issue. Mr. LaRocco wanted to make the committee aware of the letter.

Yellow Card Revocations – Tracey Sanders, Portage Township Schools
Sara Pedone, Portage Township Schools
Julie Anteau, Perry Township Schools
Shelley Blanche, Duneland School Corporation
Louis Rodriguez, Portage Township Schools
Bianca Butler, Illinois Central School Bus

## Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of June 19, 2018 Page 3.

Next meeting date is scheduled for 10:00 a.m., Tuesday, September 11, 2018 at the Indiana State Police Commercial Vehicle Division, Indianapolis, Indiana.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:12 a.m.	
Chairman	
Secretary	-
Date	-