INDIANAPOLIS 46204-2798

ROOM 229 - STATE HOUSE TELEPHONE: 317/232-0890 FACSIMILE: 317/233-0858

MINUTES Indiana State School Bus Committee June 6, 2017

The Indiana State School Bus Committee met for a regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, June 6, 2017 at the Indiana State Police Commercial Motor Vehicle Division, Indianapolis, Indiana with the following members in attendance:

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Ron Chew – Ind. Assoc. of School Bus Drivers Dr. James Hanna – Pub. Sch. Superintendent Carl Brown – Indiana School for the Deaf & Indiana School for the Blind Dr. Joseph O'Neil – Governor's Council on Impaired & Dangerous Drivers Rex Steffy – Ind. Dept. of Revenue

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sgt. Chris Kath – ISP Clifford Zehr – Ind. Assoc. of Sch. Bus Dist. – Represented by Kelly Moore

VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Michael Mentzel – Chairman Dwayne Vandiver – Sch. Trans. Assoc. of Ind. Terry Butler – Ind. School Boards Assoc. Melissa Lechner – BMV

NON-VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Mark Clawson – Ind. Twnshp. Assoc. Todd Edwards – Ind. Trans. Assoc. Rick Allen – IASBO

COMMITTEE SECRETARY PRESENT:

Carrie Glisson – Office of School Transportation

INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION PRESENT:

Mike LaRocco – Office of School Transportation

The meeting was presided by Mr. Mike LaRocco due to Chairman Mentzel being absent for a family matter. Mr. LaRocco called the committee meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Roll call was taken and a quorum of voting members was present for voting purposes.

Three guests were present: Kelly Moore – Kerlin Bus Sales

Ryan Campbell – MacAllister Trans. Denis Wiger – Midwest Transit Equip.

New member, Rex Stiffy, representing the Indiana Department of Revenue, was introduced to the Committee.

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of June 6, 2017 Page 2.

Approval of Minutes

The March 7, 2017, meeting minutes were reviewed. Mr. Chew moved to approve the minutes as written. Dr. Hanna seconded the motion. Motion passed.

ITEMS OF ACTION

No Items of Action were conducted.

ITEMS OF DISCUSSION

Notice of Intent for Rulemaking – Seat Belt Cutter and Rear Lights – we are awaiting for the State Budgeting Agency to provide their input and fiscal analysis for the rules. Public meetings will be scheduled for later in the year. Additional discussion was conducted on the strobing of brake lights on the rear of the bus. Further research will need to be conducted and a review of FMVSS regulations.

Blue Card Extensions – The IDOE has experienced two separate incidents where school bus drivers/school districts/bus companies are working the system by requesting blue cards for specific bus drivers and the driver never completes the training for the yellow card and has been issued a new blue card for the past 4 years. The committee would like to review this allowance. The item was tabled until the next meeting for discussion.

Evacuation Drill Reporting – Reporting of school bus evacuation drills is required by administrative rule 575 IAC Rule 10. Since inception of this rule, only approximately 30 to 35% of school districts in the State are reporting their drill information as required. Dr. Hanna volunteered to assist in increasing reporting participating. IDOE will notify Dr. Hanna of districts that fail to report for the 2016 - 2017 school year.

ASM Update – the 2017 Annual Safety Meeting opened on Monday, May 15, 2017.

Legislative Update – Mike LaRocco reviewed the current status of bills concerning student transportation. Only 2 bills have passed for signature: HEA 1507 and SEA 108. Mr. LaRocco also covered the Pre-school Transportation implementation date of January 1, 2018.

Entry Level Driver Training (**ELDT**) – Mike LaRocco covered the basic facts and requirements of the upcoming ELDT process.

Student Transportation Association of Indiana (STAI) Conference – The 2017 Conference is being held June 19 - 21, 2017 at the Grand Wayne Conference Center in Ft. Wayne, Indiana.

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of June 6, 2017 Page 3.

CORRESPONDENCE

Date

The committee requested Mr. LaRocco compose letters of appreciation of service to both past Chairman Pete Baxter, and committee member Claudia Koerner.

The next regular meeting is scheduled for 10:00 a.m., Tuesday, September 5, 2017 at the Indiana Department of Education, Indianapolis, Indiana.

Dr. Hanna moved to adjourn the meeting, sec	onded by Mr. Brown.	The meeting was adj	ourned
Chairman			
Secretary	-		