INDIANAPOLIS 46204-2798

ROOM 229 - STATE HOUSE TELEPHONE: 317/232-0890 FACSIMILE: 317/233-0858

MINUTES Indiana State School Bus Committee June 7, 2016

The Indiana State School Bus Committee met for a regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, June 7, 2016 at Indiana Department of Education, Indianapolis, Indiana with the following members in attendance:

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Pete Baxter – Chairman

Dr. Joseph O'Neil – Governor's Council on

Impaired & Dangerous Drivers

Ron Chew – Ind. Assoc. of School Bus Drivers

VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Claudia Koerner – Ind. Dept. of Revenue Dr. James Hanna – Pub. Sch. Superintendent Carl Brown – Indiana School for the Deaf & Indiana School for the Blind Dwayne Vandiver – Sch. Trans. Assoc. of Ind. Joey Dallas – Ind. School Boards Assoc. Melissa Lechner – BMV

COMMITTEE SECRETARY PRESENT:

Carrie Glisson –IDOE

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sgt. Chris Kath – ISP
Clifford Zehr – Ind. Assoc. of Sch. Bus
Dist.
Kent McDaniel – Ind. Trans. Assoc.

NON-VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Mark Clawson – Ind. Twnshp. Assoc. Rick Allen – IASBO

INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION PRESENT:

Mike LaRocco – Office of school Transportation

Mr. Baxter called the committee meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Roll call was taken and a quorum of voting members was not met for voting purposes. Kent McDaniel announced to the committee that this would be his last meeting due to retirement.

Four guest were present: Ryan Campbell – MacAllister

Dennis Wiger – Midwest Transit Equip

James Johnson – IMMI

Jacob McBurnie – Midwest Transit Equip

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of June 7, 2016 Page 2.

The March 1, 2016, meeting minutes were reviewed, but not approved by vote.

ITEMS OF ACTION

None

ITEMS OF DISCUSSION

Public Hearing Scheduled – The public hearing for response to administrative code revisions is scheduled before the committee meeting on Tuesday, September 6, 2016 at 9 a.m. at the Indiana Department of Education offices.

Legislative update – Mr. Mike LaRocco reviewed the 2016 Legislative Changes that are being acted on this session. They include:

SEA 93 – Updates the language in reference to IC 20-27-8-1 to include or thirty-three (33) second of arc or less angel of stereopsis". The specific degree of arc may need to be revised to more accurately meet practiced standards. The change will be proposed at the Technical Session during the summer of 2017.

Revocation of Driver Yellow Cards – Mr. Mike LaRocco reviewed the process for revocation of a bus driver yellow card. Mr. Baxter would like the procedure to include a process to include the physical surrender of the yellow card by the driver. Mr. Baxter also asked that the committee be notified whenever a yellow card has been revoked.

FMCSA – **Entry Level Driver Training** – Mr. Mike LaRocco reviewed the new federal driver training currently proposed by the FMCSA. New requirements will be enacted 3 years after the final ruling. The Office of School Transportation is considering absorbing a large quantity of the new requirements and possibly the reporting requirements to ease the burden to school districts.

Seat Belt Cutters – In the recent Griffith school bus crash, the driver was suspended from her seatbelt and did not use the cutter to release herself, but a Good Samaritan cut her down using a pocket knife. The committee discussed if revisions need to be addressed on restricting the storage location for required seat belt cutters and address the securement of said cutters. The committee tasked the Office of School Transportation with researching and presenting potential language to address this issue.

Griffith Bus Crash Review – Sgt. Chris Kath reviewed the ISP report from the investigation of the Griffith Bus Crash. Mr. James Johnson, of IMMI, discussed the types of testing that can test structural stability in school buses. He reviewed the Kentucky Pole Test and the Colorado Rack Test.

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of June 7, 2016 Page 3.

Notice of Termination of Transportation – On May 9, 2016 Northwest Allen County Schools announced at their School Board Meeting the intent to terminate transportation services for the school district. This is the sixth district to announce such intentions.

Stop Arm Violation Survey – Mr. Mike LaRocco reviewed the State results of the Stop Arm Violation Survey conducted on April 26, 2016. This year 228 districts with 8,272 buses, participated in the survey with a total of 2,954 violations.

CORRESPONDENCE

Window Shades - Mr. Mike LaRocco sent the denial letter Auto Motion Shade of Markham, Ontario, Canada in denial of their request to market their sun shades for school buses in Indiana. The denial was based on the non-transparency of the material used for the shades. Auto Motion Shade has the opportunity to appeal to the committee for additional consideration.

The next regular meeting is scheduled for 10:00 a.m., Tuesday, September 6, 2016 at the Indiana Department of Education, Indianapolis, Indiana.

 Chairman				
Chamman				
Secretary				
 Date				

Mr. Pete Baxter adjourned the meeting without vote.