INDIANAPOLIS 46204-2798

ROOM 229 - STATE HOUSE TELEPHONE: 317/232-0890 FACSIMILE: 317/233-0858

MINUTES Indiana State School Bus Committee December 3, 2019

The Indiana State School Bus Committee met for a regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, December 3, 2019 at the Indiana State Police Commercial Motor Vehicle Division office, Indianapolis, Indiana with the following members in attendance:

VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Ron Chew – Ind. Assoc. of School Bus Drivers Dwayne Vandiver – Sch. Trans. Assoc. of Ind. Randall Boone– Ind. Dept. of Revenue Terry Butler – Ind. School Boards Assoc Dr. Joseph O'Neil – Governor's Council on Impaired & Dangerous Drivers Melissa Lechner – BMV

NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:

Sgt. Chris Kath – ISP
Kelly Moore – Ind. Assoc. of Sch. Bus
Dist.
Julia Goon – Ind. Twnshp. Assoc.
Todd Edwards – Ind. Trans. Assoc.
Loren Evans – IASBO

VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Michael Mentzel – Chairman Dr. James Hanna – Pub. Sch. Superintendent Adam Ervin – Indiana School for the Deaf & Indiana School for the Blind

NON-VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

COMMITTEE SECRETARY PRESENT:

Lisa Callihan – Office of School Transportation

INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION PRESENT:

Mike LaRocco – Office of School Transportation

The meeting was presided by Mike LaRocco. The committee meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. Roll call was taken and a quorum of voting members was present for voting purposes.

Loren Evans was introduced and welcomed to the committee.

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of December 3, 2019 Page 2.

Guests that were present: Ryan Campbell--MacAllister/Bluebird

Derek Hill--BMV

Kevin Feldma--Midwest Transit

Reggie White--DOE

Approval of Minutes

Dewayne Vandiver made a motion to approve the September 10, 2019 minutes with Terry Butler seconding the motion. Motion passed and minutes were approved.

ITEMS OF ACTION

Notice of Intent to Rulemake – full specification review

Notice of Intent to Rulemake and the process was explained to the committee. The committee was advised to look through 575 IAC rules 1-9 to familiarize themselves with them in order to move forward.

Terry Butler made a motion to approve Notice of Intent to Rulemake with a 2nd by Melissa Lechner. Motion passed.

Proposed 2020 Meeting Dates:

Tuesday, March 3, 2020 Tuesday, June 2, 2020

Tuesday, September 1, 2020

Tuesday, December 1, 2020

Dr. O'Neil made a motion to approve the 2020 Meeting Dates. Dwayne Vandiver seconded the motion. Motion passed.

ITEMS OF DISCUSSION

There were no Items of Discussion for this meeting.

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of December 3, 2019 Page 3.

Correspondence

2020 Specification certification letters – Titan and Thomas

Yellow card revocations.

Tiera Anderson—Miller Transportation Shyiane Stepp—MSD of Lawrence Township Robyn Edwards—Clinton Central Melissa Retz—Auxilio Services Terri Fode—Eastbrook Community Walukaba Anzuruni—Fort Wayne Community

Dr. O'Neil made a motion to adjourn the meeting with Dwayne Vandiver seconding the motion. Motion passed and meeting adjourned at 11:26 by Mike LaRocco.

Next meeting date: March 3, 2020 at the Indiana State Police Commercial Motor Vehicle Division.

Chairman		
Secretary	 	
 Date	 	