INDIANAPOLIS 46204-2798

ROOM 229 - STATE HOUSE TELEPHONE: 317/232-0890 FACSIMILE: 317/233-0858

# MINUTES Indiana State School Bus Committee December 1, 2015

The Indiana State School Bus Committee met for a regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, December 1, 2015 at Indiana Department of Education, Indianapolis, Indiana with the following members in attendance:

## **VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Pete Baxter – Chairman

Dr. Joseph O'Neil – Governor's Council on
Impaired & Dangerous Drivers

James Hanna – Pub. Sch. Superintendent
Ron Chew – Ind. Assoc. of School Bus Drivers
Carl Brown – Indiana School for the Deaf &
Indiana School for the Blind
Dwayne Vandiver – Sch. Trans. Assoc. of Ind.
Joey Dallas – Ind. School Boards Assoc.
Melissa Lechner – BMV

## **VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Claudia Koerner – Ind. Dept. of Revenue

## **COMMITTEE SECRETARY PRESENT:**

Carrie Glisson -IDOE

## **NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Sgt. Chris Kath – ISP
Clifford Zehr – Ind. Assoc. of Sch. Bus
Dist.
Kent McDaniel – Ind. Trans. Assoc.

# NON-VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:

Mark Clawson – Ind. Twnshp. Assoc. John Perkins – IASBO

# **INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION PRESENT:**

Mike LaRocco – Office of school Transportation

Mr. Baxter called the committee meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

The September 1, 2015, meeting minutes were reviewed and two corrections noted. Mr. Hannah moved to approve the minutes as corrected, Dr. O'Neil seconded the motion; motion carried.

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of December 1, 2015 Page 2.

## ITEMS OF ACTION

**Meeting Schedule** - The 2016 Committee meeting schedule was agreed upon with the location being the Indiana Department of Education, Indianapolis, IN, unless otherwise noted. The dates are:

- March 1
- June 7
- September 6
- December 6

#### ITEMS OF DISCUSSION

**Pilot Project Request** – Bob Downin of Clark Pleasant Community School Corporation requested by letter to conduct a trial of adding additional external cameras that would feed video to a tablet mounted in the driver's area of the bus. The tablet would only come on when the bus was stopped and the exterior cameras would provide a view of the danger areas around the bus. After much discussion and consideration, the Committee declined the request. The committee will continue to monitor this type of technology. Mike LaRocco will send Mr. Downin a letter notifying him of the Committees decision.

Intent for rulemaking for Child Alert, Frist Aid Kits, Rear Stop Arm – the Governor's Office has declared a moratorium on all rulemaking. Our legal department will monitor and resubmit when the moratorium has been lifted.

**Legislative proposals** – Mike LaRocco reviewed the 2016 Legislative Changes that are being proposed. They include:

- Depth Perception clarification on 33 seconds of arc or less Angle of Stereopsis
- Yellow Card Revocation additional clarification as discussed by the Committee. Mr. LaRocco will work with IDOE Legal Dept. to improve wording
- Van Usage Use of vans to transport students is prohibited
- Loading Locations returning the word "practical" to the current statute

**NAPT/NASDPTS** – It was announced at a joint session of the conference that lap shoulder belts should be on all school buses. Mike LaRocco has informed the IDOE Executive team and is working with IDOE Legislative Group to provide a proactive response to the announcement and anticipated legislative activity.

Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of December 1, 2015 Page 3.

**Bus Options Coming** – Mike LaRocco and Cliff Zehr reviewed upcoming options for school buses including collision avoidance and tire pressure monitoring. Mr. LaRocco asked for the Committee's direction on how they would like to see bus spec changes proposed. Also OEM updates vs after-market items. Mr. LaRocco is to gather the data and forward to the Committee for review and action.

**Evacuation Drills** – Mr. LaRocco has submitted a letter to the School Superintendents. The Office of School Transportation is monitoring response rates.

#### **CORRESPONDENCE**

Denial Letter – Mike LaRocco advised of the denial letter ro Shamez Bharwani in reference to the Field Cargo System. Mr. Baxter requested future letters include a specific timeframe for appeal to the Committee.

The next regular meeting is scheduled for 10:00 a.m., Tuesday, March 1, 2016 at the Indiana Department of Education, Indianapolis, Indiana.

Without further business to discuss, Dr. O'Neil made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Carl Brown; motion passed.

Chairman			
Secretary	 		
 Date	 	 	