

Minutes Indiana State School Bus Committee September 15, 2004

The Indiana State School Bus Committee met for a regularly scheduled meeting on September 15, 2004. The following members were in attendance.

Voting Members	Non-Voting Members
Michael Benway,	Mark Clawson
Chairman	Brent Alspach
Ron Chew	John Perkins-Absent
Gary Lake	Clifford Zehr
John Rahn	Kent McDaniel
Shayne Merritt	Pete Baxter, Committee
Alfred Stout - Absent	Administrator
Claudia Mellott	
Gerald Coleman -	
Absent	

The chairman called the meeting to order. Visitors in attendance included Joe Chance and Steve Johnson. The chairman inquired if there were any additions or corrections to the minutes. With none being made, Mr.Lake made a motion to accept the minutes. Seconded by Mr.Chew. Motion carried unanimously.

The only item of action was a request to appeal denial of a waiver to 575 IAC 1-7-4, Air Horn. After a brief discussion, and testimony from Joe Chance and Steve Johnson, contract bus drivers, regarding air horns on their buses, Mr. Lake made a motion to deny the appeal. Seconded by Mr. Merritt. Motion carried. Mr. Chew dissented.

There were no items of discussion.

In items of information the administrator:

- Reviewed correspondence
- Informed the committee that the National Transportation Safety Board announced, in conjunction with their 10 most wanted transportation safety improvements, a requirement that all newly purchased and in-service school buses shall be equipped with noise-reducing switches. This will be an agenda item in the future.

With no further business to discuss, Mr. Mc Daniel made a motion to adjourn. Seconded by Mr. Rahn. Motion carried unanimously.