

Minutes Indiana State School Bus Committee January 27, 2005

The Indiana State School Bus Committee met for a regularly scheduled meeting on Thursday, January 27, 2005. The following members were in attendance.

Voting Members	Non-Voting Members
Michael Benway, Chairman	Mark Clawson
Ron Chew	Brent Alspach
Gary Lake	John Perkins
John Rahn	Clifford Zehr
Shayne Merritt	Kent McDaniel-absent
Alfred Stout	Pete Baxter, Committee
Claudia Mellott	Administrator
Joel Silverman-absent	

The chairman called the meeting to order. The chairman inquired if there were any additions or corrections to the minutes. With none being made, Mr. Chew made a motion to accept the minutes. Seconded by Mr. Lake. Motion carried unanimously.

There we no items of action.

In items of discussion, the administrator reviewed proposed language for a noise suppression switch. The noise suppression switch is one of the National Transportation Safety Board's 10 most wanted transportation safety improvements. The administrator showed a short video on how inside noise can interfere with the driver's ability to hear outside sounds. There was discussion on the cost for retrofitting all buses. Currently there are no plans to require buses to be retrofitted with the switch. It would be required on all new buses ordered after a date that is yet to be determined. Other issues discussed included wiring the switch to the service door, using an on/off switch or a momentary switch, and how to include the radio in a Type A bus in the specification.

In items of information the administrator:

• Reviewed correspondence

With no further business to discuss, Mr.Stout made a motion to adjourn. Seconded by Mr. Chew. Motion carried unanimously.