



INDIANAPOLIS 46204-2798

ROOM 229 - STATE HOUSE TELEPHONE: 317/232-0890 FACSIMILE: 317/233-0858

# MINUTES Indiana State School Bus Committee June 2, 2020

The Indiana State School Bus Committee met for a regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, June 2, 2020 held online through Cisco Webex with the following members in attendance:

# **VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Michael Mentzel – Chairman Ron Chew – Ind. Assoc. of School Bus Drivers Dr. James Hanna – Pub. Sch. Superintendent Adam Ervin – Indiana School for the Deaf & Indiana School for the Blind Dwayne Vandiver – Sch. Trans. Assoc. of Ind.

# **NON-VOTING MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Sgt. Chris Kath – ISP Kelly Moore – Ind. Assoc. of Sch. Bus Dist. Julia Goon – Ind. Twnshp. Assoc. Todd Edwards – Ind. Trans. Assoc. Loren Evans – IASBO

# **VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Randall Boone– Ind. Dept. of Revenue Dr. Joseph O'Neil – Governor's Council on Impaired & Dangerous Drivers Terry Butler – Ind. School Boards Assoc Melissa Lechner – BMV

# **NON-VOTING MEMBERS ABSENT:**

#### **COMMITTEE SECRETARY PRESENT:**

Lisa Callihan - Office of School Transportation

#### INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION PRESENT:

Mike LaRocco – Office of School Transportation

The meeting was presided by Chairman, Michael Mentzel. The committee meeting was called to order at 10:00 a.m. Roll call was taken and a quorum of voting members was present for voting purposes.

#### Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of June 2, 2020 Page 2.

Guests that were present: Ryan Campbell-MacAllister Kevin Feldman-Midwest Transit Tyler Nohe-MacAllister Zack McKinney-Hamilton Southeastern Schools Reggie White-DOE Don Gilroy-DOE Matt Lomas-Midwest Transit Nate Kreilein

#### **Approval of Minutes**

Dwayne Vandiver made a motion to approve the March 3, 2020 minutes with Dr. Hanna seconding the motion. Motion passed and minutes were approved.

# **ITEMS OF ACTION**

# **ITEMS OF DISCUSSION**

Notice of filing of re-adoption of most of the specs. Mike laRocco advised the committee that these were approved.

Legislative update. Mike LaRocco explained all of the new legislation for the year that effects school transportation.

COVID - 19 Issues:

Plexiglass shields. The committee agreed that these do not meet specifications.

Hand sanitizer stations. The committee agreed that these do not meet specifications.

Temperature scanners. These cannot be mounted.

Suspension of second semester bus evacuation drills. Mike made the committee aware of this.

Pre-service classes moving to online in Moodle. The class is in the process of being recorded and we hope to have it ready next week.

# Indiana State School Bus Committee Minutes of June 2, 2020 Page 3.

Triangle specifications. Brownsburg Schools have requested the committee allow safety triangles to be mounted in exterior compartments. 575 IAC 1-9-29 says that triangles must be located in an accessible location in driver's compartment. After discussion, the committee agrees to allow Mike to change the language to accommodate the request.

NTSB Final Report – Rochester fatal crash 2018. Mike discussed the NTSB Final Report probable cause and recommendations.

Annual Safety Meeting:

Opened Monday, May 18<sup>th</sup>.

Six segments – legislative update, NTSB Rochester report review, ELDT, autism, drug test clearinghouse, little known CDL laws

# Correspondence

Yellow card revocations.

Talia Morton-Indiana State Police Joshauni Villavecencio-Merrillville Community Schools James Johnson-Indiana State Police Hope Parrett-Indiana State Police Cynthoria Williams-Indiana State Police Ronald Gibson-Appeal denial

# Next meeting date: June 2, 2020 at the Indiana State Police Commercial Motor Vehicle Division.

Adjourn Chairman Mike Mentzel adjourned the meeting at 11:00 a.m.

Chairman

Secretary

Date